FONT 2014 Kicks Off This Week!

Posted by: Russell on September 18, 2014 @ 11:36 am
Filed under: Dave Douglas, Dave Douglas (Artist Thoughts), Dave Douglas (News), Dave Douglas (Updates)


Our fearless leader Dave Douglas kicked off the Festival of New Trumpet Music last night! The festival runs from September 17th through the 28th and features performances from the best and brightest of the New York trumpet family. See a note from Dave below and be sure to check out his tweets here. We hope to see you!

Dear Friends,

Tomorrow night FONT 2014: American•Brass•Electric opens at Smoke Jazz and Supper Club. Please see our festival preview in the NYTimes!

This year our Award of Recognition, will be given to Raymond Mase and the American Brass Quintet, celebrating over 40 years of brilliance! The first Annual Roy Campbell Jr. Commission awarded to Igmar Thomas! And first Bi-Annual Laurie Frink Education Grant awarded to Riley Mulherkar!

Check out an interview with Riley Mulherkar here.

Concerts this week:

Wednesday, September 17 (info)
Smoke Jazz and Supper Club – $9 Cover.
7pm Carlos Abadie, 9pm Kirk Knuffke,
10:30pm Leon Jordan Jr, 11:30 Theljon Allen.

Thursday, September 18 (info)
Smoke Jazz and Supper Club – $9 Cover.
7pm Paul Williamson , 9pm Steve Fishwick,
10:30pm Keyon Harrold , 11:30pm Nadje Noordhuis.

Friday, September 19 (info)
7:30pm- Village Zendo -$16 online/$20 at door.
An Evening of Improvised music to the 1926 Japanese silent film “A Page of Madness”  with Tim Hagans, Aaron Shragge and James Shipp.

Saturday, September 20 (info)
Cornelia Street Cafe – $10 cover/$10 minimum.
9pm The first bi-annual Laurie Frink Career Grant Awardee! Riley Mulherkar: Two Quartets.

Saturday, September 20 (info)
Cornelia Street Cafe – $10 cover/$10 minimum.
10:30pm John McNeil Quartet featuring Ethan Iverson
Celebrating Laurie Frink.

Please buy your tickets now! Thanks.

see you there!

all the best,

Dave Douglas, Stephanie Richards and Aaron Shragge.

No Comments

Out Now! Matt Ulery’s “In the Ivory”

Posted by: Russell on September 16, 2014 @ 4:48 pm
Filed under: Matt Ulery


Greenleaf Music is proud to announce the release of bassist and composer Matt Ulery’s “In the Ivory.” This double-CD features pianist Rob Clearfield, drummer Jon Deitemeyer, violinist Zach Brock, vocalist Grazyna Auguscik and 3-time Grammy-winning new music ensemble eighth blackbird in a lush chamber setting. Preview the music and buy your copy at the Greenleaf Music Online Store now!

With every purchase of “In the Ivory” made before September 30th you will receive a free 1-month subscription to the Greenleaf Music Cloud Player. That means you get unlimited streaming of the entire Greenleaf Music catalog 24 hours a day. Listen on your desktop, phone or tablet. It’s a great way to check out that album you’ve always wanted to listen to, or branch out a little and try something new.

No Comments

Matt Ulery’s “In the Ivory” featured on the Utne Reader

Posted by: Russell on September 9, 2014 @ 6:15 pm
Filed under: Matt Ulery


Check out a preview of Matt Ulery’s track “There’s a Reason and a Thousand Ways” from his record In the Ivory featuring vocalist Grazyna Auguscik at Utne Reader.  The 2 CD album releases on September 16th, but you can preorder your digital copy on iTunes now!

No Comments

Ryan Keberle’s “Into the Zone” Available for Pre-Order on iTunes!

Posted by: Russell on September 2, 2014 @ 6:06 pm
Filed under: Ryan Keberle


Greenleaf Music is proud to announce that Ryan Keberle’s Into the Zone is available for pre-order on iTunes! Keberle’s first release on Greenleaf Music features his band Catharsis and special appearances by veteran saxophonist Scott Robinson and Chilean-born vocalist Camila Meza. Pre-order on iTunes now! The full album will officially be released on CD September 30th.


A Noise From The Deep Podcast Episode 24: Mary Halvorson

Posted by: Russell on @ 1:42 am
Filed under: Podcast

Mary Halvorson PodcastIntrepid award-winning and somewhat professional podcasters Dave Douglas and Michael Bates interview Mary Halvorson to see how she comes up with her astoundingly original music for various ensembles. Spoiler alert, Mary doesn’t have a plan. As usual, Jon Irabagon takes it on the chin. Michael quizzes Dave on a tune from Stargazer. Eric Dolphy makes a brief appearance.

Music played in this episode:

Crashes Like Lights (No. 39) (Mary Halvorson)
from Ghost Loop (For Tune Records)
Mary Halvorson Trio
with John Hebert, Ches Smith.

Line To Create Madness (Mary Halvorson)
from Thumbscrew (Cuneiform)
with Mary Halvorson, Michael Formanek, Tomas Fujiwara.

Butterfly Orbit (No. 32) (Mary Halvorson)
from Illusionary Sea (Firehouse 12)
Mary Halvorson Septet
with Jonathan Finlayson, Jon Irabagon, Ingrid Laubrock, Jacob Garchik, John Hebert, Ches Smith.

Far Cry (Eric Dolphy)
from Far Cry (Original Jazz Classics)
Eric Dolphy with Booker Little, Jaki Byard, Ron Carter, Roy Haynes.

Reverse Blue (Mary Halvorson)
from Reverse Blue (Relative Pitch) upcoming release October 2014
with Chris Speed, Eivind Opsvik, Tomas Fujiwara.

Intuitive Science (Dave Douglas)
from Stargazer (Arabesque/Greenleaf Music)
Dave Douglas Sextet
with Chris Speed, Joshua Roseman, Uri Caine, James Genus, Joey Baron.


No Comments
coming soon

Switch to our mobile site