Ryan Keberle at Constellation Chicago!

Posted by: Russell on October 21, 2014 @ 2:52 pm
Filed under: Ryan Keberle


Greenleaf Music trombonist and composer Ryan Keberle appears tomorrow at 9:30pm for FREE(!) at Constellation Chicago. Ryan Keberle & Catharsis, Chicago Edition will feature Keberle on trombone, Brad Mason on trumpet, Josh Abrams on bass, and Makaya McCraven on drums. More more information click here. Don’t forget to check out Ryan’s album Into the Zone here!

No Comments

★ Sound Prints at The Village Vanguard in the NY Times!

Posted by: Russell on October 17, 2014 @ 3:39 pm
Filed under: Dave Douglas


Joe Lovano and Greenleaf Music founder Dave Douglas will appear at The Village Vanguard from Tuesday through October 26th. The band will feature music from their upcoming live recording on Blue Note records. (Check out a track here!) Get your tickets to the run at the Vanguard here. We hope to see you!

No Comments

Matt Ulery and “In the Ivory” on Tour!

Posted by: Russell on October 15, 2014 @ 8:15 pm
Filed under: Matt Ulery


We’re all excited here at Greenleaf Music about the ongoing tour of bassist/composer Matt Ulery. His latest double record “In the Ivory” is a gem (preview here). Check him out in a city near you:

Oct 14
New York, NY
7:00pm (tickets)

Oct 15
An Die Musik
Baltimore, MD
8:00pm (tickets)

Oct 16
Bethesda Blues and Jazz
Bethesda, Maryland
8:00pm (tickets)

Oct 17 & 18
Chris’ Jazz Cafe
Philadelphia, PA
8:00pm (tickets)

Oct 19
Drom NYC
New York, NY
8:00pm (tickets)

Oct 21
Kerrytown Concert House
Ann Arbor, MI
8:00pm (tickets)

Oct 22
SpeakEZ Lounge
Grand Rapids, MI
9:00pm (tickets)

Oct 23
Merrimans’ Playhouse
South Bend, IL
8:00pm (tickets)

Oct 24 – Oct 25
Cliff Bell’s
Detroit, MI
8:00pm (tickets)

No Comments

Spark of Being/Keystone Bundle!

Posted by: Russell on October 9, 2014 @ 4:13 pm
Filed under: Dave Douglas, Dave Douglas & Keystone, Keystone, Spark Of Being


To celebrate Keystone’s live performance at MoMA on October 14th (please read here if you haven’t yet) we’re having a Keystone sale! For every Spark of Being album purchase through October 19th you’ll receive a free copy of the the first Keystone CD/DVD. Stop by the Greenleaf Music Online Store now!

No Comments

Keystone performs “Spark of Being” at MoMA October 14th

Posted by: Russell on October 7, 2014 @ 1:51 pm
Filed under: Dave Douglas, Keystone

Our fearless leader Dave Douglas and his band Keystone will perform the soundtrack of Bill Morrison’s film, Spark of Being, LIVE with a screening of the film at the Museum of Modern Art on October 14th at 8:00 pm as a part of the series “Bill Morrison: Compositions” (more info below). Don’t miss this rare, one night only, opportunity! Here is a note from Dave:

It’s alive!

Bill Morrison’s adaptation of the Frankenstein story, Spark of Being, is right on time for Halloween. Me and Keystone created the score for this 68 minute film at the Computer Music Research lab at Stanford University in 2010. (Read review here)

For the first time in many moons, Keystone will reunite to play this piece with the film. At NY’s Museum Of Modern Art (more info and tickets here), the performance is part of a retrospective of Bill Morrison’s work with film and live music. Other performers include Bill Frisell and cellist Maya Beiser.

Keystone is Dave Douglas, Marcus Strickland, Adam Benjamin, Brad Jones, Gene Lake, and Geoff Countryman. There is a special box set of CDs available from this work. The three CDs are: Soundtrack, Expand, Burst. They include the original piece, a collection of alternate takes, and an entire disc of material recorded at the session and not used in the film.

Come join us at MoMA for this very special event.


The ”Bill Morrison: Compositions” series continues through November:

Tue Oct 14 Dave Douglas and Keystone performing live to “Spark of Being”
Thu Oct 23 Maya Beiser performing live to “All Vows”, “Just Ancient Loops”, and “Light Is Calling”
Fri Nov 21 Bill Frisell performing live to “The Great Flood” with Ron Miles, Tony Scherr, and Kenny Wollesen

Tickets to all three film-concerts may be purchased as a pre-sale package for $30 until Mon 10/13.

No Comments
coming soon

Switch to our mobile site